The Merge Contacts and Entities screen allows you to merge contacts in your account, however, it is dependent on the type of QuickBooks account you have. Please note that in this article, an Entity refers to a customer or a vendor.

If you are on QuickBooks Online, you can:

  • Merge two contacts of the same lead, customer, or vendor
  • Merge two customer leads (but not merge customers)
  • Merge two vendor leads (but not merge vendors)

If you are on QuickBooks Desktop, you can:

  • Merge two contacts of the same lead, customer, or vendor
  • Merge two customers (as well as customer leads)
  • Merge two vendors (as well as vendor leads)
  • If an entity has more than one contact, you can change the Main Contact for it

*NOTE*: You must be in single-user mode in order to merge entities in QuickBooks Desktop. Otherwise, you will get a sync-conflict until single-user mode is enabled.

Below, we will cover the following topics, pointing out differences between QuickBooks Desktop and QuickBooks Online.

  • How to Merge a Contact
  • How to Merge an Entity
  • How to Change the Main Contact

How to Merge a Contact

Please note the following before you merge a contact:

  • Merge cannot be undone.
  • Contacts must be of the same entity.
  • All records and details across all apps related with 'From Contact' will be moved to 'To Contact'.
  • 'From Contact' will be deleted from Method:CRM.
  • A contact that is the Main Contact cannot be the 'From Contact'.
  • Normally, contacts are not synced with QuickBooks, however, the Main Contact is synced when using QuickBooks Desktop. Any merge done to the Main Contact will automatically sync it to QuickBooks Desktop.

To merge a contact:

1. Select the Contacts App, find the contact you wish to merge, and click it.

2. Expand the Edit [▼] button beside Contact Details, and select Merge Contact. Again, you cannot merge a Main contact.

3. This will take you to the screen Merge Contacts and Entities. The Merge Contacts option will already be selected for you, as will the From (Merge) contact. Select the contact you wish to merge into within the dropdown To (Keep).

4. Click Merge to merge the From (Merge) contact into the To (Keep) contact. Remember, the From Contact (Merge) contact will be deleted.

5. Click OK, and you're done! The contact will be successfully merged.

How to Merge an Entity

Merging two leads, or two customers, or two vendors are all very similar. The below example will merge two customer leads, but it is the same process for customers and vendors.

Please note the following when merging an entity:

  • Merge cannot be undone.
  • All records and details across all apps related with 'From Entity' will be moved to 'To Entity'.
  • You cannot merge two entities of different types. So only a customer can be merged to another customer. You cannot merge a customer into a vendor.
  • 'From Entity' will be deleted from Method:CRM. If you are using QuickBooks Desktop, then the From Entity will also be deleted from QuickBooks Desktop.
  • For those using QuickBooks Desktop, accounting data will be synced to QuickBooks automatically.
  • For those using QuickBooks Desktop, you must be in single-user mode in order to merge entities. Otherwise, you will get a sync-conflict until single-user mode is enabled.

To merge an entity:

1. Select the Contacts App, find the contact you wish to merge, and click it.

2. Expand the Edit [▼] button beside Customer Lead Details, and select Merge Customer Lead.

3. This will take you to the screen Merge Contacts and Entities. The Merge Customer Leads option will already be selected for you, as will the From (Merge) customer lead. Select the customer lead you wish to merge into within the dropdown To (Keep).

4. Click Merge to merge the From (Merge) contact into the To (Keep) customer. Remember, From Customer Lead (Merge) will be deleted.

5. Click OK, and you're done! The customer lead will be successfully merged.

How to Change the Main Contact

This section is only for QuickBooks Desktop users. When a customer is created in QuickBooks Desktop, a contact is automatically created in QuickBooks and Method:CRM. This contact is the Main Contact and is the only contact that syncs with QuickBooks Desktop. All other contacts created in Method:CRM will not sync to QuickBooks.

In the case the main contact leaves, you may want to assign the Main Contact type to another contact. When using this tool, remember:

  • This will only swap the contact type, so no associated records will be affected.
  • The new Main Contact will automatically sync to QuickBooks.

To make a contact the main contact:

1. Select the Contacts App, find the contact you wish to merge, and click it. You need to choose the contact that is not currently the main contact.

2. Expand the Edit [▼] button beside Contact Details, and select Make Main Contact.

3. The following prompt will show. Validate you have chosen the correct contacts. When ready, click the OK button to continue.

4. And you're done! The contact will be updated as the main contact.

Did this answer your question?