Whether a Method user created a case or a customer did, once the initial case has been saved it appears in the Cases List screen where you can access and update cases. Some cases take longer (and therefore more interaction) to resolve. The following steps will show you how to access and update a case, and how to close it once it's done.
Note: Customers can create, comment on, and close cases, but they cannot make any changes beyond that. The user assigned to the case will receive an email every time a customer comments or closes a case.
Locating A Case
1. From your Method dashboard, click the Open link on the Cases App.
2. This opens the Cases List. Search the list manually for the case you’d like to update, or use the search function to locate it.
3. Click the case to view it.
Viewing a Case
The case details are loaded when you select a case in the Cases List.
You have the option to edit the subject and description as well as the contact and case details.
Note: Generally speaking, unless there's been an error or the contact needs to change, it's a good idea to leave the case and contact details alone to ensure you have an accurate record of how the case began.
There are a few things different from when you first created the case. Let's take a look at those now.
- Activity App Ribbons - All the activities associated with the case. See below for more details.
- Case Age - How long the case has been open without a resolution.
- Portal Link - This is the portal link for your contact so they can update the case themselves.
At the bottom of the case view, you will find buttons to save the case.
- Delete - This deletes the case in case of a mistake. It does not resolve it and shouldn't be used if you are in the middle of dealing with your customer.
- Save & Back - This saves the current case and goes back to the previous screen.
- Save - Save the current case and keep it open.
- Save & New Activity - This will save the current case and take you to a screen to create a new Case activity. Case activities are slightly different from normal activities, so see below for more information on that.
You will notice there isn't a button to complete the case. You can set the Case Status ot completed, but best practice is to create a case activity and complete the case from there.
All activities that have been logged for this case are visible in the case's App Ribbons bar at the top of the screen.
So what are activities for? Without the context of an actual case study, it's hard to walk you through your own workflow. Just remember your CRM basics: an activity is meant to log all your interactions with a customer. Here are some examples:
- Respond to a customer's comment from the portal.
- Booking further communication with the customer (like an in-person meeting).
- Log a communication with a third party (e.g. ordering a part for a customer).
All of these activities are saved to this case, which can help you keep track of how you and your company dealt with this customer service issue, both today and when the case is closed.
By selecting Activities Closed, or Activities Open, you can see a preview of the past activities created for the case and selecting an activity will allow you to view it.
There are many ways to create a new activity related to this case, but in the app ribbon itself, you can click ⊕ New and this will take you to the New Case Activity screen.
When creating or viewing an activity for a case, you will see there are slight differences when you compare it to a normal activity screen. At the top of the screen, the case details will be shown.
And at the bottom of the screen, there are a number of options for the activity and closing the case.
- Notify the contact - As stated, by creating this activity, you will notify the contact and they will be able to see the activity in their portal. However, the follow-up created here will not be shown to them.
- Delete - Delete the activity.
- Complete & Close Case - This will complete the activity and close the case.
- Complete - This will complete the activity only. The case will still remain open.
Closing a Case
When the issue has been resolved, either you or the customer can close the case. The customer does this from their portal screen, at which point the Method user is informed by email and the case is marked complete.
Alternatively, the Method user can close the case, but you may have noticed there is no close button at the bottom of the case screen.
You can just change the case status to closed, however, the best practice is:
- Create a new Case Activity or open up a related Follow-Up Activity.
- Enter proper resolution within Activity comments.
- Click Complete & Close Case at the bottom of the Case Activity Screen.
This ensures you keep track of your relationship with a customer, not to mention keeping accurate records in case the customer has another issue (or even the same issue, at which point the case can be re-opened by changing the status back to in progress.)