And now we come to the real heart and soul of customizing Method - the Design Mode. This section will describe the tools available to you and how they work, which will be very helpful once you start customizing and building your own apps!
There are two ways to get to the Design mode of a screen to customize it.
When viewing a screen, click the
∨symbol at the top by the title of the screen. A menu will show where you can select Customize Screen.
When you are in the App Settings for Screens, clicking on the ✎ Customize button for the screen you wish to customize.
There are a number of different elements in Design Mode that deserve explanation, so let’s start at the top.
Just above the Menu bar, you’ll see the name of the screen you are editing. Beside the screen name you’ll see either Design Mode, or Publish Mode.
Design mode: This means the screen is ready to be customized. It hasn’t been published (made live) in the past, and you’re ok to start making changes to the screen.
Publish Mode: The screen is Read-Only and cannot be changed. Normally, when you edit a screen that is Live, the screen is published and can no longer be customized. You will be asked to create a copy, or open the screen in Read-Only mode.