After learning about what screens are, you should famliiarize yourself with all the options available to you when customizing screens in an app. 

To navigate to the Screens section, select the vertical ellipsis ( ) on your app, and select Manage. By default, you’re automatically taken to the Screens section.

At the bottom of each screen tile is a Customize link. 

This option opens the Design Mode of that screen, where you can customize all sorts of elements of screen functionality and design. We’ll be covering that in detail in the Design Mode documentation.

Note: A note on customizing default screens: Method doesn’t allow you to
alter the functionality of a stock screen. Whenever you try and customize
a stock screen, you will be given the option to copy it.

Selecting the vertical ellipsis ( ) in the upper right corner of the screen gives you more options which we will cover below.

Copy

When you select to copy a screen, you will be given two choices:

  • Create New Version: This will create a new version of the screen but not a second copy of the screen. In effect, this will allow you to update the screen and keep past versions of it if you wish to roll back.
  • Create New Screen: This allows you to create a second copy of the original screen. It will have the same design, and it will have the same base table (which you can't change). You will be asked to supply a name for it, and then you are also given a choice to redirect the original to your new copy or not. 

Versions

This allows you to manage the different versions you have for each screen (which is different than a copy of the screen). We'll cover this in greater detail in its own section.

Redirect

One screen may be the navigational destination from a number of other screens. 

For example, you can create an activity from a contact. That means there is a link to the New Activity screen from the View Contact screen. But there's also a link to the New Activity screen from the Invoice screen. And there's one from Opportunity Screen. 

More than one app will allow a way to navigate to the New Activity screen. If you create a copy of the New Activity screen, how will you get all the links to point to your new copy?

That's where Redirect comes in. You can redirect everyone going to the original version to your new version. 

The Redirect option allows you divert the user from going to one screen and sending them to another.

In fact, the redirect link allows you to redirect a user to any other screen in any Method App to which you have access!

Security

This option allows you to:

  • Allow screen to be shared publicly - the screen is viewable by anyone on the internet. The only way to get the public URL, you will need to generate this via the Create Short Method URL action. 
  • Allow screen to be shared with with guests - the screen is visible within a portal screen. If you create a screen you want your customers to see via the portal, they need to be shared with guests. 

Delete

You can use this button to delete a screen, but keep in mind you can’t undo this action, so make very sure you want to get rid of it before you pull the trigger!

Did this answer your question?